Member Compass Video Overview:
Sections in this article:
- What is the Member Compass?
- How does it work?
- What will they see?
- Member Compass Sections
- Creating a membership from the Member Compass
What is the Member Compass?
Your members' online profile and guide to their membership information within your association.
How Does it Work?
An individual must first create their user account. Once they are logged-in, they will be able to see and access their profile information, transaction history, event registrations and more. They can get to their Member Compass by clicking on their name in the top-right hand corner, similar to other social platforms. Both members and non-members may have an account, though their access to certain things on the website will differ.
What Will They See?
What individuals will see depends on their status in your membership list and/or their level of access.
Regardless of member type, status, or family relationships
All logged in users will be able to see their Dashboard with their membership status, transactions billed to themselves, their event history, their order history, and their own personal profile information.
The Billing Contact for a company can see all of the above, as well as see and pay transactions for the company and related contacts.
The Primary Contact for a company has all of the above, in addition to access to the staff list (optional with a setting - see below) and the company's information. Individuals with management access also have these privileges.
Member Compass Sections
Sections available to all users:
The Dashboard section is the first page your member will see upon login. This section will show them their membership status (the messaging here varies depending on your membership structure and the particular member's status), a message from you, any outstanding invoices, upcoming events, and featured blog categories.
Keep in mind, this is the dashboard for a test account (and primary contact of a company), so a particular member may not have these exact sections.
By default, everyone will have an Account History tab that will show transactions that have been billed to them. Here, members can view transactions, pay invoices, or print transactions in bulk.
Primary Contacts, Billing Contacts, and those with management access will also be able to see transactions billed to their company and other related contacts of the company.
Transactions are sorted by default in order of open invoices that are due. The "sort by" tool allows users to sort their transactions by balance, who was billed, transaction date, due date, status, and total. Note that the transaction status appears in the righthand corner of the transaction space.
The My Events tab will show any upcoming events the user is registered for as well as events they have registered for in the past.
Upcoming events can quickly be added to a calendar from the My Events section, and private webinar link events will allow the user to join the event directly from this screen 15 minutes before the event begins.
For past events, users can see what they have or have not been marked as "Attended" for and, for events that earned CEU credits, users can download their Continuing Education Report directly from this screen.
The My Orders section shows for any order purchasers. Here, they can see order information for orders they have placed, their order fulfillment status, and tracking number (if applicable), as well as subscription information.
All individuals will be able to edit their profile information - such as contact information and custom fields. Allowing users the ability to change their parent company is a per-association decision (learn more about this setting here). Let the Novi team know if you would like to update this setting for your website.
For data cleanliness & security reasons, individuals must contact the association to change their first or last name.
Login & Password
The Login & Password section allows users to see their main contact email and login email, and to edit their login information - login email and password. Note that they must know their current password to make these changes.
Sections available to only company primary contacts or users with management access to a company:
This section allows users with company privileges to edit company information such as contact info and custom field information.
Please note the following:
- These users will not be able to edit the company's name.
- They will also only be able to make edits to their direct parent company's information.
- Billing Contacts will not have access to edit their company's information.
Here, users with company privileges can add and remove staff members from the Staff list.
Please note the following:
- Adding a staff member does not automatically create a login for the new staff member - that person will still need to create an account on the website.
- When removing a staff member, the system removes the Parent Company from the person's record, but it does not delete them from the system.
- Additionally, the staff list will only show for the individual's direct parent company, regardless of which companies they are given access to.
Note: The Staff tab will only appear for users with company privileges if the setting for users with management access to be able to control their company's staff is turned on for your website.
- For trade associations with company members, we recommend that this setting is turned ON so that primary contacts can remove/add staff members from their company and update their information.
- For a society with individual members, you may want this turned off so that membership information stays protected from unwanted changes. Ultimately the decision is yours.
- The setting can be updated in Association Settings > Membership.
Creating a Membership from the Member Compass
There are a few scenarios where a user can actually create or renew a membership from their Member Compass. Of course, this requires that they already have a login, so a few specific scenarios would apply here:
- The user is an expired/lapsed member who would like to renew their membership.
- The user is an expired/lapsed member in grace period who would like to renew their membership.
- The user is a current member, but you have auto-renewal turned off and allow members to renew themselves prior to their expiration.
- The user is a non-member with a login who would like to register for an individual membership.
- The user is a prospect with a login who would like to register for an individual membership.
- The logged-in user is the primary contact or has management access to a non-member company who would like to register for a company membership.
- The logged-in user is the primary contact or has management access to a prospect company who would like to register for a company membership.